English

Program Information

English has a lot to offer, representing a broad range of academic, practical, and humanist concerns. Our classes promote fluency in academic reading and writing, as well as work environments and personal living outside the classroom. We provide windows with views into the broadest range of human experience.

What Does The English Department Have To Offer?

You can find information about the following on this website:

  • Full-time faculty members, including office locations, phone numbers and e-mail addresses
  • Kaleidoscope, Kishwaukee College's student run newspaper
  • Kamelian, Kishwaukee College's student literary and art magazine
  • Various contests and scholarship opportunities
  • Writing resources, including assistance in the Learning Skills Center (LSC)
  • Provides reading courses

Get Published!

The Kaleidoscope, Kishwaukee College's student run newspaper, continually seeks applications from students. Check out the different opportunities (not just writing!) that await you. Alternatively, you can read related Journalism course descriptions.

The Kamelian, Kishwaukee College's student literary and art magazine, accepts yearly submissions of art (3D and 2D), photography, poetry, short stories, and essays from students. You can download a current general information sheet and an entry form when they become available.

Get Money!

Kishwaukee College offers an assortment of essay contests and scholarship opportunities related to English studies: (For now, feel free to check out these opportunities.)

  • Paul Simon Essay Contest
  • Perry/Cornell Reading and Study Skills Scholarship
  • Perry/Cornell Journalism Scholarship
  • Jeanne Henderson Memorial Scholarship

Kishwaukee Resources

Want one-on-one help with your writing? English tutors are available in the Learning Skills Center:
Monday & Wednesday: 9:30am - 1:00pm; 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Tuesday & Thursday: 9:30am - 4:00pm
Friday: 9:00am - Noon

Find course descriptions of any English classes we teach in the Kishwaukee College Catalog.

Can't find your English classroom? Have your room number ready and view the interactive Campus Map.

Contact Information



Todd West
Coordinator, Instructor
Phone:815-825-2086, ext. 2670
Office: B2318
Email: todd.west@kishwaukeecollege.edu

John Desjarlais
Instructor
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 2620
Office: A2201
Email: john.desjarlais@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Carl Fuerst
Instructor
Phone: 815 825-2086, ext. 2640
Office: A2236
Email: carl.fuerst@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Nathan Gordon
Instructor
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 2870
Office: B2317
Email: nathan.gordon@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Tina Hultgren
Instructor
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 2280
Office: B2321
Email: tina.hultgren@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Ami Irmen
Instructor
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 2780
Office: A2235
Email: Ami.Irmen@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Bonnie Miller
Instructor
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 3010
Office: A2204
Email: bonnie.miller@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Ann Mueller
Instructor
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 3610
Office: A2240
Email: ann.mueller@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Beth Parks
Instructor
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 3170
Office: B2320
Email: elizabeth.parks@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Amy Smith
Instructor
Phone: 815-825-2086, ext. 2080
Office: A2211
Email: amy.smith@kishwaukeecollege.edu

Twitter Facebook Youtube Foursquare

Supporting our Veterans